Arthur Hazlitt Leadership Award

The Arthur Hazlitt Leadership Award recognizes Deaf persons who have provided outstanding leadership in the Deaf community over a period of at least ten years, at the national, provincial, or local level.The name of this award honours Arthur Hazlitt, who, in addition to many years of service to the CAD, set an excellent example of a leader at the national, provincial, and local levels over a period of more than ten years.

  • 1970 Eugene Fowler
  • 1972 Bill Bain
  • 1974 Forrest Nickerson
  • 1976 Maureen Baskerville
  • 1978 (No winner)
  • 1980 Guy LeBoeuf
  • 1982 Dorothy Beam
  • 1984 Ronald Fee
  • 1986 David Mason
  • 1987 Arthur Hazlitt
  • 1989 Charmaine Muise
  • 1992 Leanor Vlug
  • 1994 Gladys Doyle
  • 1996 Lawrence Grant
  • 1998 Bruce Koskie
  • 2000 Arthur LeBlanc
  • 2002 David Murison
  • 2004 (No winner)
  • 2006 Jules Desrosiers
  • 2008 Grant Underschultz
  • 2010 Yvon Mantha
  • 2015 Lisa Anderson-Kellett

Award of Merit

The Award of Merit was established by the Canadian Association of the Deaf to recognize any person (Deaf or non-Deaf) who has made significant contributions to the well-being of Deaf persons in Canada.

  • 1970 Emmett Casey
  • 1972 Rev. Bob Rumball
  • 1974 Graeme Wallace
  • 1976 Sister Olivia Fiola
  • 1978 Denis Morrice
  • 1980 Sue Paquette
  • 1982 Rev. Robert Bauer
  • 1984 Bob Lucyk
  • 1986 Jamie McDougall
  • 1987 Gordon Ryall
  • 1989 Bruce Jack
  • 1992 Bonnie Dubienski
  • 1994 Gordon Hein
  • 1996 Myles Murphy
  • 1998 Jolanta Lapiak
  • 2000 Henry Vlug
  • 2002 (No winner)
  • 2004 Laverne Foster
  • 2006 (Award discontinued)

Canadian Association of the Deaf Hall of Fame

The Canadian Association of the Deaf Hall of Fame was founded by members of the CAD Board of Directors in 1991 to recognize Life Members and outstanding individual contributions to the CAD.

  • 992 Keir McLean
  • 1994 David Peikoff Robert McBrien
  • 1996 Marshall Wick Joseph Rosnick
  • 1998 Howard Lloyd Donald Kidd
  • 2000 Henry Vlug Eleanor McPeake
  • 2002 David Mason
  • 2004 (No inductees)
  • 2006 Len Mitchell Bruce Jack
  • 2008 Arthur Hazlitt
  • 2010 Phyllis Watson

The Diversity Award

The Diversity Award recognizes individuals or groups that have promoted and supported diversity in the Deaf community. “Diversity” is understood to mean the inclusion and equality of Deaf persons of varying races, religions, ethnic background, disabilities, genders, ages, languages, and so on.

  • 2006 Association des gais et lesbiennes sourds
  • 2008 Ontario Association of the Deaf
  • 2010 (No winner)
  • 2015 Global Deaf Muslim Canada

The Henry Vlug Award

The Henry Vlug Award is presented for political, legal, or advocacy action that has significantly increased the equality of Deaf Canadians. This should be for a single action, e.g., winning a legal case, but it could also be given for a lifetime of this kind of achievement. It is open to Deaf or hearing nominees.
The Henry Vlug Award is named in honour of Henry Vlug, Q.C., for his many successes in political, legal, and advocacy efforts to increase equality. These successes include actions that resulted in full captioning of television programming, provision of Sign language interpreters in post-secondary institutions, and accessibility in court proceedings.

  • 2006 Henry Vlug
  • 2008 Linda Cundy
  • 2010 Gary Malkowski
  • 2015 Christine Roschaert

The Marshall Wick Award

The Marshall Wick Award recognizes achievement in the field of Deaf education. This could be for excellence in teaching, or for outstanding research work on Deaf education, or for activism in keeping a Deaf school open. It is open to Deaf or hearing nominees.
The name of this award honours Dr. E. Marshall Wick for his decades of devotion to the cause of Deaf education, both in Canada and in the United States, particularly his role in expanding the Canadian Deaf Education Fund in the 1970s and 1980s.

  • 2006 Joanne Cripps
  • 2008 David Mason
  • 2010 Michel Lelievre
  • 2015 Kristin Snoddon

The Deaf Youth Role-Model Award

The Deaf Youth Role-Model Award is chosen by youth members to honour people whom they admire as role models for young Deaf Canadians. It is open to Deaf nominees only. The award may be given to recognize any Deaf person whom Deaf Youths identify as a positive and inspiring role-model in any field, including advocacy, education, personal development, employment, organization, media, sports, technology, and so on.

  • 2006 Alice Dulude
  • 2008 Evelyne Gounetenzi
  • 2010 (No winner)
  • 2015 Leanne Gallant